Posts Tagged ‘Reviews’

SORROW has been reviewed by OCD, Vampires, and Rants, oh my!

Tuesday, July 13th, 2010

Anna of OCD, Vampires, and Rants, oh my! has given Sorrow 3 pints of blood:

The world in which it’s set is complex and full of little details that make clear the reader is barely scratching the surface and makes you want to explore further.

You can read her full review here. Thanks Anna!

SORROW has been reviewed by Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Friday, December 11th, 2009

Judi of Sidhe Vicious Reviews has given 3.5 Fangs to Sorrow!

The story has murder, courtly machinations and intrigue, assasins and several plot twists to keep you reading. John Lawson has crafted a fine tale to take you away from the real world.

You can read her full review here. Thanks Judi!

SORROW has been reviewed by Ruthie’s Book Reviews

Monday, November 30th, 2009

Ruth Schaller of Ruthie’s Book Reviews has given 4 skulls to Sorrow!

“In this book, the world seems complex, but not so much more than our own. The characters were engaging and I really started to feel for the people. Not all of them of course, there are always some characters you’d wish the killer would get. The plot was fascinating!”

You can read her full review here. Thanks Ruthie!

THE RAVEN reviewed by Temple Library Reviews

Friday, July 17th, 2009

The Raven was reviewed by Harry Markov of Temple Library Reviews:

“Since it’s always easier to list all the stones in the shoe than dress the praise in words, I will start with what drove me to great deal of annoyance.”

Golly, I wish he’d liked it better. :(

He does have some nice things to say:

“What Lawson did in his first novel was to show us a very harsh world environment torn in wars. However, he is not the typical one trick pony. What he does with his main character is traveling around the areas unrevealed in book one and presenting an even darker aspect of his universe, which is full with grotesque details and interesting concepts that are downright creepy, if not nauseating at times.”

Oooh… My writing can be nauseating! Mmmn… I like that!

“What I positively loved about the novel was the underlying theme of the traveling man, the holy pilgrimage and reevaluation of faith.”

You can read his full review here. Thanks Harry!

SORROW reviewed by SF Site

Sunday, May 17th, 2009

Sorrow has been reviewed by Stuart Carter of SF Site (and StuPC):

“Despite the off-screen machinations of great rulers and esoteric magics, as well as the incursion of foreigners and alien species, the action here is defiantly local, not the least I suspect, because there’s a very “community” feel to the locale (the tavern, the woods, the church and the palace), it all has a relatively cosy feel to it (which is perhaps what makes Sorrow’s arrival — not to mention Hashii’s — so unsettling: both are alien to this place, but not completely unknown).”

You can read his full review here. You can also read his reviews of Witch Ember and The Raven.

Thanks again, Stu!

SORROW reviewed by Dark Phantom Reviews

Wednesday, May 13th, 2009

Mayra Calvani of The Dark Phantom Reviews has reviewed Sorrow:

The author has created a very real, dark fantasy world and I was able to picture the setting vividly in my mind. The descriptions, mood, and dialogue all help bring Lawson’s detailed world to life. The characters are deftly drawn and come across as genuine people. The prose sparkles with beautifully crafted language.

You can read her full review here. Thanks Mayra!

SORROW reviewed by MysteryFiction.net

Sunday, May 3rd, 2009

Anne K. Edwards of MysteryFiction.net has reviewed Sorrow:

“This is an opportunity to try fantasy that is not the standard romance of the genre.”

You can read her full review here. Thanks Anne!

SORROW reviewed by SF Crowsnest

Saturday, May 2nd, 2009

Sorrow has been reviewed by Kelly Jensen of SF Crowsnest:

This story, a fully fleshed and tightly plotted thriller, dances between the questions of church, faith, magic, human relationships and darker desires.

You can read her full review here. Thanks Kelly!

SORROW reviewed by Bethanie’s Brain

Thursday, April 9th, 2009

Sorrow has been reviewed by Bethanie from Bethanie’s Brain:

…not only is Sorrow a serious contender for the Bethanie’s Favorite-Books-of-All-Time list, but it has also made the Yes-I-Want-A-Hard-Copy list, which is huge, because there are very few books that merit an allowance of space in my teeny, tiny house, as well as the I-Can’t-Wait-To-Read-It-Again list.

You can read her full review here! Thanks Bethanie!

SORROW reviewed by Amberkatze’s Book Blog

Sunday, April 5th, 2009

Amber Chalmers of Amberkatze’s Book Blog had this to say about Sorrow:

“The tale takes place in the land that John Lawson has created and has really brought to life in each of his books. With such detail and linguistic depth you really begin to feel like you are in another world. Fantasy is the main genre here but mystery is woven into this well written story.”

Check out her full review here. Thanks Amber!